Lea Valley CC E1/25b including new club record

Despite the promised wet weather, several members enjoyed warm and dry conditions on the E1/25b on Sunday, promoted by Lea Valley CC. A quick glance through the start sheet showed a large Oxford contingent entered, and since public urination is frowned upon a strong showing was needed to mark our territory.

The gently rolling 25 mile course along single carriageway unfortunately starts at the south end, but a short train ride brought us to the HQ at Lea Valley CC’s cycling hut: a taste of the cycling club scene of the ‘50s.

A few DNS aside, it was a good day for the club with a smattering of PBs, power bests and a new 2-up team time trial club record. The previous mark of 55.18 by A Adams and Brian Philips had been set in 1981 on the E2/25, presumably in the days when the A11/A14 had slightly less traffic. Club president Seb Dickson and Men’s Captain John Mulvey rode the course in 52.52 to win the 2-up category knock 2 mins 26 off the old record.

In the individual competition, Rob Walker put in a strong showing to take 2nd place. Provisionally, in combination with Chris Revell (15th) and Toby Cowell (24th) the club also wins the Dick Murphy Memorial Triophy for the fastest London East District Team of three.

In the pre-varsity shakedown, Oxford took 8th, 9th, 11th and 12th  and so had a faster team of three on the day. With a large number of CUCC’s fast men absent on the day, this year’s Varsity match promises to be a hard fought affair.

Many thanks to Lea Valley CC for a well run event with some excellent bacon sandwiches.



Rob Walker 2nd 53.59

Chris Revell 15th 59.08

Toby Cowell 24th 1.01.15

Sean Irving 43rd 1.04.45

Nick Grogan 62nd 1.12.58



Seb Dickson and John Mulvey 1st 52.52


Race report available on the CTT website here: https://www.cyclingtimetrials.org.uk/race-report/14589

Posted in Race Reports, Race Results, Time trialling and tagged , , , , , .